top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmeldah Kgwedi

Choose Life


large (2)

Choose Life

As young people of God, we should be working towards purpose and not just living the way unbelievers live.

We can’t do anything we want to because that is what is “in vogue.” By the time all those wonderful trends are over, you’re left with a bad taste in your mouth and regrets that last years.

Haven’t you ever wondered why after people experience horrendous, life-altering situations, they always turn to God? It’s because in the end, our souls know who they belong to.

So why fight it?

Why not just go back to your Maker before the drug addiction, before alcohol ruins your life, before you find yourself as a middle-aged person with no direction?

Our God is a God of order.

Whether you come to Him now, or later, is all up to you. He’s a gentleman. He gave us the ability to choose.

Deuteronomy 30:19 I call heaven and earth to record this day against you, that I have set before you, life and death, blessing and cursing: therefore, choose life, that both thou and thy seed may live.

I honestly believe it makes no difference to God if we give our lives to Christ today or tomorrow, so long as we don’t go to hell. But along the way, we make bad choices, He still forgives us if we come with a contrite spirit. God wants you saved, but he won’t MAKE you saved. You have to come out. You have to forsake your sin. You have to confess Jesus as the Lord and saviour. So today, make the right choice.

Choose Life.

John 14:6Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

Choose Jesus.

God said He set before us Life and death, Jesus is that Life. God was basically telling the Israelites, choose Jesus, before Jesus had even been born! God knows the beginning from the end, I’d rather follow Him than my own stupid devices, that will eventually land me in hell to boot.

I know what you will say, “Yeah, it’s so easy to say, ‘Choose Life’, but to actually do it?” Well. I understand that. I’ve been there quite a few times. God telling me to do something, and I would really rather not. Let me give you a real-life example from my own life.

I was in a wonderful relationship that was leading me nowhere, and I held on, despite God telling me to let go. I thought I was meant to marry him, for some absurd reason. The closer I got to God, the more I realised God had better in store for me in marriage than a man who wasn’t even after His heart. No ways.

I am mentioning this for various reasons. One of them is this, maybe God has told you to stop doing something that you just can’t imagine stopping.

Just do it.

Maybe it’s a bad habit.

Stop it. Take a step a faith, that as you drop the thing, you pick up His grace to go on. The great thing about being a child of God is He gives us grace to stop that which we have no power over. You don’t have to continue and suffer alone. God wants to help you. He only wants your first step.

God won’t step in until you decide to step out. As I said, He’s a gentleman.

Maybe it’s a sinful relationship. I know, your heart feels like it is breaking. It isn’t. You feel like you won’t recover. You will. I felt all those things and more.

But I am alive, and you will live too.

Romans 6:1-2What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound?God forbid.

Don’t ever entertain half-baked relationships because of sentimentality.

I’m glad the relationship ended when it did, because I started seeing that I could never marry a man like that. I have destiny to consider. My pastor’s wife said something at a lady’s function, she said “Is the person who you want to be in a relationship with, able to bear your destiny? Can they help you to bring it to fruition?”

Something like that.

The answer was no. That guy would have hindered my destiny, because he wasn’t even pursuing his own! May God forgive me for not leaving that young man sooner.

This takes me back to the first statement, we as children of God, can’t live like unbelievers and that is the raw, hard truth. If we continue to try and emulate them, God will warn us, until eventually He just withdraws because of our disobedience. I faced God’s wrath a lot. I feel like God expected a lot from me, and I, unfortunately, didn’t see it. And that probably angered Him a lot.

Honestly, before I was born again, I suffered a lot of from insecurities. I would constantly worry that I wasn’t good enough for anybody. That was obviously the devil. And after I got born again, it took a while before the true Love of God soaked so deep in me that my confidence wasn’t in myself, but in Him and that changed everything.

It’s so freeing being a daughter of God because I know simply that wherever I am, I am more than enough. Because of who my Heavenly Father is. Not because of what I’ve done or accomplished, but simply because I took a step of faith, and chose Life. Now every other person in life is choosing me. Because of His favour.

This day, if you have not yet, choose Life. Choose Jesus.

Drop all those burdens, those boyfriends, those so-called friends that make you feel like you’re not good enough. And pick up the yoke of Jesus, for it is light.

And if you have already chosen Life, thank God for Salvation. Who knows where we would be without Him? Without His grace?

May God have mercy on us all and open our spiritual understanding.

Faithfully yours,

Lerato

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page